The Game Crafter News: Let’s take a trip to New England to speak with Marc Aranha…

Posted: October 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

Let’s take a trip to New England to speak with Marc Aranha of WarSpider Entertainment.

How and when did you first hear of The Game Crafter?

I first heard about The Game Crafter earlier this year, while doing online research for independent publishing options. A colleague later recommended the company to me as well. After doing some initial test prints and investigating the website, I was sold.

What games have you published through The Game Crafter and what is the name of your game design label?

To date, I’ve released two Dragon Clash decks (Red Breather and Blue Adept) through The Game Crafter, with plans to release two more (Silver Channeler and Brown Mauler) in October. WarSpider Entertainment, LLC is my independent development company.

Had you ever published a game before using The Game Crafter?

No, Dragon Clash was my first experience with The Game Crafter.

How long had you been designing games before using The Game Crafter?

I’m one of those “lifers”. Games of all mediums have always been a big part of my family. My mother bought my first Dungeons and Dragons set when I was roughly five and I returned the favor my later hooking her on Magic: The Gathering and Hero Quest. Trying out new board games was a tradition throughout my childhood with my father. He also introduced me to video games. Designing games seemed natural, beginning with tinkering with existing rules and fixing things that didn’t work, creating mash-ups of my favorites, or all new game creations. So, I’ve been designing games for as far back as I can remember. My first for-profit game was a tabletop RPG, called Shalkith: Last Kin, which I wrote and released in 1995 while in college.

How much time do you spend on designing and playing games?

I always have at least three design projects in my “todo” pile, in addition to the game I’m actively working on. So, I’m designing a game of some sort on a daily basis. It can make it hard to pick just one to focus all my resources on, with new ideas always tugging at my heart strings. That’s the nature of the beast, though. Starting new designs is always easier than finishing one. I also play games daily. Sadly there are often more great games to play than hours in the day.

What keeps you motivated to continue designing games?

The creative process mostly. I enjoy creating worlds for people to play in and entertaining the imagination. It’s an outlet for me and keeps me passionate.

Have you learned anything from your experiences that you’d like to share with The Game Crafter community?

Know your weaknesses and find or hire people to help you overcome them. I learned that lesson early, with my first game, when I deluded myself into thinking I could do my own cover art. Now, I have a constant reminder of my error staring back at me from my bookcase. Since then, a majority of my development budgets now go towards hiring artists, and I think it’s made a massive improvement in the presentation of my games.

What is The Game Crafter’s killer feature and why?

When I was evaluating The Game Crafter and its competitors, I found that each had its strengths on the production-side of things, but what elevated The Game Crafter for me was its service. The owners are clearly passionate about their company, and are constantly in the chat rooms, on the social media sites, and on the forums. That kind of accessibility, on top of a strong product offering, made The Game Crafter the clear choice for my needs.

What game conventions do you usually attend?

I most recently attended Pax East, but I hope to get more involved in the convention circuit in 2013.

How would you describe yourself?

I guess my bio would say something suitably marketable like, “Award-winning designer and author”, but mainly I’m just a doting father of two daughters and a guy who enjoys writing and making games.

Are you married, dating, or otherwise involved?

Yes, I married my college sweetheart. I’m a lucky guy.

Do you have any kids?

Two beautiful daughters. The oldest, at 5, regularly beats me in Dragon Clash. She’s ruthless.

Do you have any pets?

Two cats and a dog. It’s a packed house.

If someone visited your area, what’s something they must see or do?

I live in a fairly rural area of New England, so if you don’t enjoy leaf watching, stay home and chat with me about Dragon Clash or challenge me to a game of Blood Bowl online (I’m an addict).

What do you hate?

The business side of any creative industry. It’s the dreaded Yin to the generally enjoyable Yang of the creative process.

Oh, and the Patriots.

What do you love?

Dragons! What else?

What’s the last CD/MP3 you bought (or downloaded)?

I’m a big fan of Two Steps From Hell. They do a lot of the epic soundtrack music you hear in movie and game trailers. I basically buy anything they put out commercially.

What’s the last movie you watched?

With two kids, I’m always about 6-months behind. I think it was my wife’s turn to choose the movie and she picked “What to Expect When You’re Expecting”. Hey, you have to keep the wife happy!

You’re stuck on a train/plane for 6 hours and bored out of your mind, how do you pass the time?

Are you kidding me? I’d read a book. My lord, these days simply finding the time to do something that simple is a luxury.

Any last words?

I’d just like to thank The Game Crafter for creating such an excellent service and of course the Dragon Clash fans who keep the game alive. If you’d like to learn more about Dragon Clash, visit our website at DragonClash.com and join our Facebook and Twitter communities!

from The Game Crafter News http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/tgcnews/~3/ShJXpNWfdYU/32926029470

Leave a Reply

