Geekish Takes a Look at Tichu. Also, Shirts!

Posted: September 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

Geekish takes a look at the very popular ladder-climbing trick-taking game, Tichu.  

From the review…

The card design leaves much to be desired. They reminded me of menus from Westernized Chinese restaurants. When I did a quick google search, it didn’t take me long to confirm the visual reference. The funny thing is that I’ve NEVER had Chinese takeout in one of these containers before, sigh.

Not all of the designs are horrible in this game though. I can’t really say that the following ones are great, but at least they’re not completely offensive.

 These four special cards I think are the most acceptable out of the entire game. I still think the illustration style and colours are funky, but at least I could see the connections they’re making.

Now back to the bad. Let’s take a look at some of the Jack, Queen, and King Cards. Their references are confusing at best. Note the strange Caucasian grandpa on the top left…

 Are the sets supposed to follow any theme?

Honestly, I have no idea if there is supposed to be any theme these images are related to. They’re so vague and random, my guess is as good as anyone else’s. And why the random pink-faced grandpa in a suit?! It also heightens the fact that everyone else has bright yellow skin too. Okay, I get it. Chinese/Asian = yellow. Another strike here.

But despite all of that, I think the most awkward and annoying aspect of the design are on these three cards….”

Go check out the whole review here, along with pictures of the cards he’s referencing.

But wait, there’s more!

Geekish also sells shirts – so far, specifically Settlers of Catan shirts.  Here’s one of them, the Longest Road Ever.

Check out their store to see more.

from GameSalute.com http://www.GameSalute.com/geekish-takes-a-look-at-tichu-also-shirts/

Leave a Reply

