How Not to Kickstart Your Project (from Wired)

Posted: September 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

To Jonathan, author of this post.

THANK YOU.

This is exactly what I wish I could say to many of the folks who contact me with different projects they have.  Jonathan writes an imaginary letter that he wishes he could send to Kickstarter project owners who contact him.  An interesting read – here’s a bit.

3. I’m sorry, what exactly is your project again?

Sure, your video is cute, but it doesn’t actually tell me what your project is or what you’re going to do with my money if I back you. If your project is a game, I should be able to tell how to play it. If it’s a book, I should know what it’s about. If it’s art-based, I should see some samples of the art. You could have the most amazing idea in the world, but if you can’t communicate what it is to me (and your potential backers), then it’s going to be a hard sell.

4. You have unrealistic expectations.

Not every project reaches 500% of its goal and blasts through several stretch goals. In fact, most successful projects just barely cross the finish line — but the ones that do insanely well are the ones that you’ve probably heard about (and are the ones you’re currently trying to replicate). I like your project, but do you really think:

  • you need that much money to complete this project?
  • you can complete this project with so little money?
  • that many people will pledge at that reward level?

Set your goal for what you actually need to do your project, but don’t forget to take into account Kickstarter’s take, Amazon’s take for processing credit cards, and the amount it will cost you to mail those things once you’re done.

Read the rest of it here!  And take notes!

from GameSalute.com http://www.GameSalute.com/?p=33490

Comments
  1. bdistracted says:

    Nice, thanks for sharing this post

Leave a Reply

