This week we’re in Brooklyn, NY to chat with Zeke Abuhoff…

Posted: September 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

This week we’re in Brooklyn, NY to chat with Zeke Abuhoff of Greater Gotham.

How and when did you first hear of The Game Crafter?

I heard about The Game Crafter a couple years ago in a game design course at NYU.

What games have you published through The Game Crafter and what is the name of your game design label?

6 decks of Tide of Battle, a customizable card game for 2 or 4 players. The label is Greater Gotham.

Had you ever published a game before using The Game Crafter?

I had not.

How long had you been designing games before using The Game Crafter?

I’ve been designing games now and then for much of my life, but I got more seriously invested in it a few years ago when I started taking courses at the NYU Game Center.

How much time do you spend on designing and playing games?

These days, I spend a pretty good amount of time playing games, but I’d like to spend more time designing.

What keeps you motivated to continue designing games?

I want to learn about how people play and use that knowledge to develop something really powerful.

Have you learned anything from your experiences that you’d like to share with The Game Crafter community?

Recruiting and managing artists can be a lot of work, but it’s worth it for your game to have really good art.

What is The Game Crafter’s killer feature and why?

The Game Crafter’s accessibility is second-to-none, making it a great resource for small-time designers.

What game conventions do you usually attend?

I’m not in the habit of attending conventions. I’d like to be, but it’s a significant expense.

How would you describe yourself?

I’m a game designer living in Brooklyn.

Are you married or dating?

I live with my girlfriend, who is wonderful.

If someone visited your area, what’s something they must see or do?

Check out Nitehawk Cinema. Not only is it a stylish little movie theatre, but it also features booze and food that can be ordered during the show.

What do you hate?

Nazis.

What do you love?

I love providing people great experiences through my work.

What’s the last CD/MP3 you bought (or downloaded)?

Not sure. But right now, I’m eyeing a discount Sinatra compilation.

What’s the last movie you watched?

Secret of Kells. Great stuff. I recommend it.

You’re stuck on a train/plane for 6 hours and bored out of your mind, how do you pass the time?

I read. It’s an unexceptional choice, perhaps, but, for some reason, trains are when I’m most able to read a book rather than just articles.

Any last words?

Is that a threat?

from The Game Crafter News http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/tgcnews/~3/4sM7pI7jz_A/31510954229

Leave a Reply

