Come with me to Glendale, Arizona to have a chat with Ian…

Posted: September 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

Come with me to Glendale, Arizona to have a chat with Ian Steadman of G.U. Games.

How and when did you first hear of The Game Crafter?

Sometime around 2008 I made a gift for my wife and step-children, the New Super Mario Bros. Boardgame. A friend of mine who came to town occasionally to judge and orchestrate large Magic:TG Tournaments and stayed with us when he did saw this game and told me that I should talk to his boss about it. His boss, Tim, now a friend of mine, was a consultant for WotC and Fantasy Flight and different points in time and he assumed the role of a mentor of sorts for my game design and desire to take it to a legitimate status. The next year, 2009, he sent me a link asking me if I had heard about this brand new site called The Game Crafter. The clouds parted for me and I finally had an outlet for my creativity and a way to create prototypes and really begin realizing my dreams of being a game designer.

What games have you published through The Game Crafter and what is the name of your game design label?

The label my wife and I started is called G.U.Games. So far we have released 4 games through TGC that are currently available, they are: RoboRiot, Unlucky Sevens, Werewolf in Town, and Ichi: Game of Dragons. We have a deluxe edition for Unlucky Sevens coming very soon, and we are working on more releases as we speak.

Had you ever published a game before using The Game Crafter?

Nope!

How long had you been designing games before using The Game Crafter?

I have been designing games literally since I was a small child, so yes. Only since discovering The Game Crafter had I begun to make it a serious part of my life and more than just something I just dabbled with once or twice a year.

How much time do you spend on designing and playing games?

A lot. Fortunately I have a job that provides a decent amount of downtime, which I utilize on my various projects. I carry a notebook everywhere I go in case I make an observation or inspiration strikes, and my wife will tell you there are some evenings I act like a man possessed. I don’t let it get in the way of too much and I still find time to play board games with friends. Suffice it to say, I don’t play nearly as many video games as I did some four years ago, but I am OK with that.

What keeps you motivated to continue designing games?

My own love of games in the first place is one of my biggest driving factors. I try to design games that I would enjoy playing myself, so that really helps to keep my interest. I also have a loving family of gamers to devote my work to as well.

Have you learned anything from your experiences that you’d like to share with The Game Crafter community?

Call all the local game stores in your town and find out which ones have a “board game night” and then go to it. If none of them do, then start one. The friendships I have made at my local game store are priceless and having a community of game-lovers at the ready that gather on a regular basis makes playtesting with a wider range of individuals a whole lot easier.

What is The Game Crafter’s killer feature and why?

Options. The sheer range and volume of different options are what makes TGC solid gold. You can make your games as simple or elaborate as you want and nobody will tell you “no”. You can make your own cards of any size, give it a board (or use mats) give it a full printed box (or just use the standard black box) use fancy custom dice (or regular D6s). As they are adding more and more features and options the possibilities are becoming more limitless as the weeks go by…and you don’t have to order 10,000 copies and have them shipped in from China either.

What game conventions do you usually attend?

I am getting into a habit of going to all the local cons that I can. I went to Conflagration this year, Phoenix Comic Con, and I went to Indy for GenCon just a few days ago. I went to the last GenCon in SoCal and wish they would bring it back. I’ll be going to RinCon in Tucson, AZ very soon, and VulCon next time it comes around in Phoenix.

How would you describe yourself?

Something of a mad scientist… But mostly I’m just a regular guy that likes making and playing games.

Are you married, dating, or otherwise involved?

I am happily married; my wife of nearly 4 years, Trish, is my business partner and chief community organizer for our company.

Do you have any kids?

My son Ethan is just over 2 years old. I also have three older step children; Victoria, Alexander, and William, they are beginning to help me with my games as they get older.

Do you have any pets?

We have three dogs, and my wife has a frog. We also have a roommate that can be very pet-like from time to time…

If someone visited your area, what’s something they must see or do?

Come visit me and the board game group at Imperial Outpost Games!

What do you hate?

Politics. Deception. Inconsideration.

What do you love?

Community. Family. A good scotch. (Oh, and games.)

What’s the last CD/MP3 you bought (or downloaded)?

The last MP3 I bought was “In The Mood” by “To My Surprise”

What’s the last movie you watched?

That would be The Siege, I watched it on my flight home from GenCon because of a recommendation from a coworker. Violent, but I enjoyed it. Pretty strong message with a “what if this happened here?” kind of scenario.

You’re stuck on a train/plane for 6 hours and bored out of your mind, how do you pass the time?

Depends on what I have with me, I tend to take my notebook everywhere I go so I would probably expand upon one or more of my designs or perhaps come up with new ones. I might read one of my books about Game Design, (I am currently reading the Kobold’s Guide to Board Game Design by Mike Selinker and it’s a great read.) If I am trying to give my brain a rest I might just play Final Fantasy on my phone or watch a movie on my tablet or something like that.

Any last words?

A scientist in his laboratory is not only a technician; he is also a child placed before natural phenomena which impress him like a fairy tale.” – Marie Curie

This is how I feel when I design games. Your mileage may vary. 🙂 Before I go, I would also like to say THANK YOU to The Game Crafter and the awesome community that has grown here over the past 3+ years, it’s been an honor to be a part of all of this.

from The Game Crafter News http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/tgcnews/~3/O9HQ-01KAXM/31060659319

Leave a Reply

